The tragedy of the Kuih Lapis Kacang that was not meant to be

Standard

So I woke up really early today so that I could catch a ride from Joe to go to the Asian store. The newly found enthusiasm that I have to explore Malay cooking has led to serious trolling of several Malay food blogs.

Lo and behold, I spotted a reliable looking Kuih Koleh-Koleh recipe. Kuih Koleh-Koleh is a complex, elaborate Malay dessert. Well, at least in my mind. Koleh-Koleh consists of a brown sticky custard that has a caramel, nutty, creamy flavour. And is topped with Tahi Minyak which literally means Oil Shit. What it really is, is coconut milk reduced till the point it curdles and turn a dark chocolate colour and releases coconut oil. The curdled crumbly goodness that remains is known as Tahi Minyak and is sprinkled on top of the steamed brown sticky custard. Tahi Minyak is like the icing on a Malay cake. It adds a new dimension to this humble looking steamed cake. Yum! Just thinking about it makes me salivate. Not quite sure what it is doing to fellow readers who have never had these little bits of brown goodness. Oily shit might not stimulate your salivary glands like it does for me.

You might notice that I swing from calling it a custard then a cake. “Make up your mind already,” you say. Which is it? It really isn’t a cake or a custard. More like a cross between the two. It is complicated like that.

Anyway, it was not Kuih Koleh-Koleh that led me to the Asian store this morning. Kuih Koleh-Koleh just seemed a little intimidating to me. I am merely an amateur with very little experience in making Malay kuih despite being Malay. I only know how to eat them. I later came across a seemingly less complicated recipe from a Kuih Lapis Kacang Hijau (Layered Green Bean Cake). It looked delicious and manageable. And I don’t have to deal with making the extra component of making the Tahi Minyak which require laborious stirring of the coconut milk for an extended period of time.

So Kuih Lapis Kacang Hijau it is.

When I got to the Asian store, the Malaysian/Indonesian section was bare! I don’t see the green bean flour that I thought I saw a month ago. All that was left was hoon kwee flour that is split mung bean flour. I was disappointed and panicked for a second. I scurried to the Thai/Vietnamese flour section. No Green Bean Flour!!!!

As I wandered around the different aisles I spotted Moi-Moi Akara Bean flour. I pondered for a minute. Maybe this might work. For some reason I thought it looked like green bean flour although I don’t even quite know what green bean flour is suppose to look like. I took comfort in the fact that the packaging looked Filipino-ish. Most Filipinos are Malay by race and there are little overlaps in our language, food and physical appearance.

So Moi-Moi Akara Bean flour it is.

As I stood at the check-out line I asked the Vietnamese cashier? “Do you know what kind of Bean this Bean flour is made of?” ” I think it is Mung bean (a.ka. green bean). It usually is.” She sounded confident in her guess. I got the semi-confirmation that I so badly wanted.

I googled Moi-Moi Akara bean flour when I got home.

Apparently Moi-Moi Akara Bean flour is used in Nigerian cuisine. NOT Filipino as I had guessed. I am still not a 100% sure what bean it is made of but there is a mention of black eye peas. So I figured how bad can it turn out.So I chance it.

The first funky feeling I got was when I added the coconut milk mixture to the flour. Earthy, raw soya bean smell started to emit from the mixture. I thought it just needs to be cooked. It will smell better. And as I steamed it layer by layer, it smelled and looked like it was coming together.

I was optimistic but cautious.

I let it cool. I unmoulded it. Took a deep breath and cut into it.

Hmm..pretty gross. Not quite what I had in mind. Gummy. Muddy. Brought me back to that one time I added a wheat grass shot into my orange-carrot juice at Jamba. Overall, YUCK!

I know now that Moi-Moi Akara bean flour is not the same as green bean flour.

Upon closer inspection of the packaging of the Moi-Moi Akara Bean flour. Smack in the middle was a map of Africa. There was also a picture of a mud hut with a lady in a Gomesi pounding some beans.

I feel stupid. I am also disappointed. This sucks. I failed. Into the bin it goes.

I blame BING BONG BANG!!

I won’t give up. Will get it right the next time round. And the next time it will be Kuih Koleh-Koleh, Oily Shit and all!

One response »

  1. Salam dear, Thank you for visiting my blog (Kayteeze Kitchen). I’ve read some of your post, And I liked it.

    Kak tie (dah blur nak tulis dlm english), suka baca pengalaman adik di US tu. Harap adik terus menulis.. nanti kak tie singgah di sini lagi.. Kak tie juga ada blog kraf (http://kaytieze.blogspot.com) dan kekadang ada juga tullis di personal blog (http://dangarumbia.wordpress.com). Kalau adik ada kelapangan, jemputlah ke blog2 kak tie tu.. Juga kalau suka, kak tie ada fb acc TIE GANU (kaytieze).

    Salam mesra dari Malaysia.. 😛

Leave a Reply

