Losing my toes to the cold, wintry dark night.

Standard

It feels good to have my toes. At least I think they still work. They are not black and blue. At least not yet. Just a reddish purple. There is still sensation, so I think I am good.

What the hell!

So I got stuck in Seattle for two nights. Was not anticipating that. Damn freezing rain! Icicles were hanging down the wings of the planes. We were not going anywhere fast. So whatever.

I finally got home today. Despite several cancellations out of O’hare due to the snow, my flight was close to on-time. It was quite shocking.

I was hoping to get re-assigned when I got in but unfortunately that did not happen.

Snow  boots! I had forgotten to bring them. Ok I am lying. I was too lazy to lug them with me on my trip despite having room in my bag. What a moron! Yes that is me.

My bus was suppose to get in at 9:00pm. I was early.  9:00pm came and went. I was getting worried. What if they had cut their service due to the snow? So I called the bus information number and the lady said it is running late but she had no idea when it will get there.  It was 9:30. I figured I might as well wait till the 9:40 bus and pray that it comes.

It was cold. My worn-out plastic shoes and hosiery were not keeping my feet warm enough. So I decided to emulate Michael Jackson and don white socks with my black flats.

9:40! Thank you, God. I see the bus turning round the corner. Thank you for the heads up on eliminating the 9:00pm bus. Whatever! I was just elated to know that my over an hour wait had paid off. The bus came and I was in the relative comfort of a borderline warm bus. Gratitude was all I felt. I said hello and smiled. The driver ignored me as he focused on his iPhone. That’s fine. I am just happy he is here.

The ride home was relatively uneventful. Except for the bitch sitting in front of me. Look at me I’ve got straight long hair extensions. I am hot. Let me swish my hair around. Look at me. It is amazing how the flat iron and 3 hours sitting in a salon can do to my ugly face. I now look hot from the back. BITCH!

Anyway, as I was saying, it went by pretty swiftly considering the road conditions. 45 minutes later I was at my stop.

I had my fingers crossed. If the side walks were not shovelled, I would take a cab to my apartment. I can spend $6. I remember saying to myself, “It didn’t feel too cold. Seems tolerable.” It was nice to see the guys out shovelling the snow. One side of the street was all done. I can do this. 1st block. 2nd block. Shit. The snow is slushy. My feet were getting wet. That’s alright. Home is not too far away. I can make it. 3rd block. What the hell? This section here is not shovelled. That’s alright I can handle this. It continue to persevere and prod in. By the 4th block I began to feel numbness in my little right toe. This is not good. I stopped for a minute. I took off my shoes and my socks were soaked. Bad!

I tried to warm them up with my hands and bend my feet and wiggle my toes just to help with circulation. I took a few more steps. It was uncomfortable. It felt like I was only walking with 4 toes on my right foot.

I panicked. No cabs in sight. Police cars kept making their rounds. I tried to call a cab. Operator said that they did not have any cabs available. What the ……

Suddenly, I had an Out of the Wild flashback. Out of the Wild is a show about urbanites being thrown into the wilderness. The season Joe and I watched was when they were in Alaska. Awesome show. So I thought to myself, “What would they do? Take off those damn socks!” And I did. “Suck it up and walk on the road,” I told myself.   It was late enough, that there weren’t that many cars. At least it was easier to pull my suitcase  and tote on the road then it was to drag it through the snow on the side walk.

Die from getting hit by an oncoming car or lose a toe? I had to decide and I chose to risk it and keep my toe.

The last time I ate was breakfast at Embassy Suites. I felt no hunger today which was unusual for a glutton like myself.

I can feel my wet stockings.

The alley way or continue to plough through the snow on the side walks where there is the safety of street lamps? I cast aside my fears of alley rats and gang way muggings and moved as  quickly as I could through the alley. It was a huge relief to see the door to my building.

Went through the first set of doors. Dropped my suitcase and tote. Removed my wet and cold shoes and I ran up to my apartment. Dropped my pants and stockings. My feet they were itching and burning. I had to scratch it. I take that back. I had to claw it. I turned on the hot water and soaked my feet for a few minutes. My toes are alive! 10 toes. Thank you.

If I hadn’t removed my wet socks. I know I would have been in a lot of pain.

24 degrees Fahrenheit = -4 degrees Celsius = Brrrrrrrr! = Almost 2 hours in bad shoes = Possibly missing toes.

It feels good to be home with all my toes.

Lesson learnt. Always bring snow boots on all my winter trips. Try not to be so lazy next time.

Leave a Reply

